The first time’s always a b!tch…

Somehow, I think that since I’ve been working out pretty consistently for 3 years, a week off won’t really be all that signficant. And it isn’t. Until I go back. I was dragging throughout my workouts this week–Monday and Tuesday were particularly challenging not so much physically but mentally. Wednesday was double workout day: walking with a friend followed by spin class.

Let me tell you, spin felt like it was going to kill me for the first 10 minutes. My legs burned and felt sluggish, I felt like a stranger to the bike for some reason and I was distracted by a small light flickering in a corner. And then, suddenly, everything felt right. My heart rate was consistently in the 150-170 range, I controlled my breathing and my cadence and my legs burned–this time without feeling like lead.

I’m not going to mislead you: I was EXHAUSTED after. I yawned through a coffee date. I was ready to be in bed by 9 (I held off til 10). But it felt pretty darn good!

4 responses to “The first time’s always a b!tch…

  1. I’ve always heard it takes about 2 weeks to lose aerobic fitness. Like if you routinely run the same distance and have to miss a week for vacay or injury, you should be able to pick right back up where you left off, and just feel slightly more winded for a day or two. But if you miss 2 weeks or more, they recommend you start off with less and build back up.

  2. Good for you for sticking with it, even though it was a bit of a struggle.

  3. Of course it was a struggle! Did you forget that the week you weren’t at the gym wasn’t because you were lying on the beach sipping pina coladas! It was because your body had been banged around both physically and mentally due to the accident. Stress does take a physical toll. So give yourself a break. The Diva of the Gym will return in fine form!

  4. I could not agree with you more – its crazy how your body can go to pot when you step away from the exercise – I didn’t work out yesterday, and my friend and I just walked and it felt so hard for some reason – and we didn’t even use any weights!!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

