Maybe a little over- or underwhelmed?

I’ve been quiet lately. Some of it is plain old busy-ness. Some of it is the need for reflection. And I’m kinda tired.

My birthday is coming up. I feel the need to revisit my goals, make some necessary adjustments and come out with some fabulous plan for the next year. I think it’s just habit. And the need to go go GO and do do DO all the time.

But, 34 is just 10 days away. I ain’t getting any younger. I kinda want to fill the next two years with all of the things I never did or never thought I could do because I was too unhealthy or too chunk-ariffic. Things like:

  • take a cruise
  • do the sprint triathalon
  • run more
  • bike outdoors more
  • be a roller girl

I’m also scared shitless. Tri training starts in 2 and a half weeks, and I’ve been nursing shin splints the past day and a half. I still haven’t run a 5k and after taking some time off from running, I’m not sure I can run 2 miles.

In the meantime, I’m icing my shins and taking OTC anti-inflammatories for the next couple days and work on a schedule to get back to normal over the next week or two.

4 responses to “Maybe a little over- or underwhelmed?

  1. First, the corporate girl in me: your goals aren’t measurable… so in order to attain them you need as measured by (AMB). Like run 3 miles once a week, run 2 times a week, bike outdoor for 5 miles once a month except in the winter, go to the roller rink once a month.

    Second- shins splints… in addition to icing (if you didn’t already know) stand on a stair on your toes, drop your heels below the stairs… old for 30 seconds, repeat 3-4 times… it should help.

  2. Good luck in your tri training! I actually had to join a different gym while I trained because my other gym didn’t have a pool – luckily they had an a.m. plan and it was only an extra $35 a month for that membership.

    I have to point out that I am a horrible swimmer. The closer my tri came, the more nervous my husband got, because he kept saying “you know, in a lake, you can’t put your foot down!”

    The look on his face when I got out of the water was priceless! If you google “train for a tri” there are plenty of training plans out there. You can do it!

  3. I know waht you mean…I turn 34 in 20 days….ick…

  4. shin splints are the suck!

    I hear ya on the tri training. I’m freaking out a little, too. I wouldn’t worry about the 2 miles – who cares if you have to wog it? Do whatever feels right for you. And consider this….

    Only one person can win. Everyone else should have a rockin’ good time!

Leave a Reply

