A little before & after action

This weekend was a little more indulgent than I planned. VERY late dinner Saturday when Evan finally got home from a craft fair in PA, west of Philly.  I was sipping on an Ithaca Apricot Wheat while I waited for him to get home, and then I had a half of a coffee and cream stout at a place called Triumph Brewery in Princeton. LOVE that town. The beer, a local brew, was fantastic!

Thanks to Saturday night’s Triumph indulgence, I am bloated as all get-out. The scales are up a good 2-3lbs, so I’m chugging water as if I were a socially anxious freshman chugging Milkwaukee’s Best at a frat party.

Meh… that wasn’t the best metaphor to use given my line of work. Anyway…

Being a slow loser and having been on a 2+ year plateau, I sometimes forget that I HAVE made progress and my life has drastically changed. Looking at those photos every once in awhile helps me celebrate my progress and prevents me from getting all mopey about the weight I still have left to lose.

That said, check out my before:

January 2007--within the first couple of weeks of starting WW.

And after current:

April 2010. 60lbs down, another 60-80 to go!

I love that new dress–it was $40 at Target and a size 16. Typically, Target clothes seem to run a bit small, so I was impressed this baby zipped up with no problemo.
This weekend, I spring cleaned. Five bags of clothes that are too big are being donated to a local women’s center. It included lots of professional clothes, including 6 suit jackets in sizes 16-18 (I’m now a size 12/14 top, so even the smallest jackets were too large and frumpy looking). Lord knows professional clothes in plus sizes are wicked expensive. I hope someone gets good use out of them.
There was NO formal working out due to all the cleaning and errands-running this weekend. Therefore, I’m hitting it hard this week so my first May WI is a good one, and so I don’t feel bad celebrating my birthday next weekend.

I took a break from cleaning house to develop my plan for the week, but I gotta admit, figuring out dinners is getting hard again. I don’t get it–I’ve been doing this for years. Why am I struggling now? Perhaps it’s the change in season and the struggle to rewire my brain to think summer foods? Perhaps its because the week is packed: writer’s group Monday, the need to complete spring cleaning projects, a poker night Thursday or Friday… As it is, I’m squeezing in my supermarket trip Monday at 7:30am! Anyway, here we go–as a reminder, the goal is 1200-1300 calories daily, with less than 50% from carbs, 25-30% from protein and fat:

MONDAY:

  • Breakfast: Egg Beaters with Laughing Cow cheese on a Fiber One English Muffin
  • AM Snack: smoothie made with Greek yogurt, skim milk, baby spinach & 1/2 a banana
  • Lunch: @ work (egg white omelet with ham and tons of veggies and light wheat toast OR salad with grilled chicken and beans OR turkey sandwich)
  • Snack 2: FF Greek yogurt with unsweetened cocoa powder, Splenda & strawberries
  • Workout: 30 minute wog & weights (not gonna lie–it’s gonna be a challenge to fit this in between work and a 7pm writers group–something may have to give)
  • Dinner: grilled chicken taco salad (mixed greens, black beans, reduced fat cheddar, salsa, tomatoes, cukes, carrot, celery, radish, avocado)
  • Snack 3: sugar free Jello with FF Reddi Whip

TUESDAY

  • Breakfast: oatmeal made with egg whites, cinnamon, pecans
  • AM Snack: 11 raw almonds
  • Lunch: @ work (egg white omelet with ham and tons of veggies and light wheat toast OR salad with grilled chicken and beans OR turkey sandwich)
  • Snack 2: apple
  • Workout: long walk w/Seniorita Gordita who will be recovering from her first half marathon
  • Dinner: mustard-dill baked salmon with roasted cauliflower, broccoli, green beans, potato
  • Snack 3: sugar free pudding with FF Reddi Whip

WEDNESDAY

  • Breakfast: Egg Beaters with Laughing Cow cheese on a Fiber One English Muffin
  • AM Snack: pear
  • Lunch: @ work (egg white omelet with ham and tons of veggies and light wheat toast OR salad with grilled chicken and beans OR turkey sandwich)
  • Snack 2: smoothie made with Greek yogurt, skim milk, baby spinach & 1/2 a frozen banana
  • Workout: weights, spin & abs class
  • Dinner: grilled chicken sausage with leftover veg/potato from Tuesday night
  • Snack 3: sugar free Jello with FF Reddi Whip

THURSDAY

  • Breakfast: oatmeal made with egg whites, cinnamon, pecans
  • AM Snack: pear
  • Lunch: @ work (egg white omelet with ham and tons of veggies and light wheat toast OR salad with grilled chicken and beans OR turkey sandwich)
  • Snack 2: 1% cottage cheese with fresh chopped dill
  • Workout: spin class
  • Dinner: sushi? It’s going to be 90 degrees. I KNOW I won’t feel like cooking. Maybe another spinach smoothie 🙂
  • Snack 3: sugar free pudding with FF Reddi Whip

FRIDAY

  • Breakfast: Egg Beaters with Laughing Cow cheese on a Fiber One English Muffin
  • AM Snack: FF Greek yogurt with unsweetened cocoa powder, Splenda and strawberries
  • Lunch: @ work (egg white omelet with ham and tons of veggies and light wheat toast OR salad with grilled chicken and beans OR turkey sandwich)
  • Snack 2: 1% cottage cheese with freshly chopped dill
  • Workout: 45 minute run/walk, weights
  • Dinner: taco salad (mixed greens, black beans, lean ground chicken, reduced fat cheddar, salsa, tomatoes, cukes, carrot, celery, radish, avocado)
  • Snack 3: sugar free pudding with FF Reddi Whip
9 responses to “A little before & after action

  1. You are gorgeous!

    And that dress IS super cute!

  2. Tina,

    You look amazing! I remember when that picture was taken at Jenny’s. Wow, what a distance you’ve traveled…

    Deanne

  3. Those beers sound fantastic!! I love a wheat beer.

    I need to get better about planning my evening meals and prepping my lunches. I go through phases where it seems like I have 100000 ideas for each, lately that just hasnt been the case.

  4. what a huge difference! I love the dress. I was in Target the other day and had to try VERY hard to avoid the dress section – so cute 🙂

  5. Wow. You look awesome!! Congrats on the 60 pounds, that is fantastic. You are so dedicated, I really admire you!

  6. You look fabulous!

    Coffee and cream stout = YUM! I have to find it!

    Have a great week and keep up the awesome work. 🙂

  7. You look absolutely fabulous!

    But ….egg whites in oatmeal?????? Sorry but yuck!

  8. What an awesome accomplishment!!! Great job love the dress 🙂

  9. a) you look gorgeous
    b) loverly dress
    c) what a difference between the two pictures
    d) way to go!

Leave a Reply

