Another run, another victory

Something struck me as I was gasping for air, cursing my sister for taking me on a run and cursing myself for agreeing to it…

I really don’t like running.

I hate the way I feel while I’m doing it, I can’t stand the aching in my ankles and feet and the tightness in my chest. Attempting to control my breathing by inhaling through my nose and exhaling through my mouth is much like patting my head, rubbing my tummy and dancing a tango all at the same time.

But, running is like dieting/weight loss. I don’t like the process but I love the outcome. I feel good afterwards. Accomplished.

I feel like I just kicked the ass of that middle school bully who shoves kids in lockers.

Is running going to kill me? Not at all. Although I felt tired afterwards–I would have taken a nap if it weren’t for the other things I had planned that day–I wasn’t sore. I’m not sore today. I don’t walk away this unscathed from a good weight circuit or a Total Body Conditioning class.

I measured our running route later that night. We did a 4 mile route: 2.8 miles running (including a one block sprint up a slight hill) and 1.2 miles walking (2 walking breaks plus a short warm up and a brief cool down). This marks my second outdoor run and my longest run ever. I’m less than half a mile away from running a 5k now!

The scale this week stayed flat. Another maintain that will be challenged by today’s Memorial Day BBQ food fest (BBQ pork, hot dogs, beet salad, baked beans, pasta salad, cupcakes and who knows what else). I will indulge, but I will also swim, possibly go for a walk tonight (or another run–who knows) and drink water like it’s going out of style.

Yesterday’s food plan was perfect: 1263 calories, about 47% from carbs, 28% from protein and 25% from fat. (I ate Greek yogurt with berries while my family enjoyed slices of Table Talk apple pie with ice cream.) I made a cold quinoa Greek salad for dinner (with feta, tomato, roasted red peppers, Greek olives, herbs, cucumber–it needed some red onion though). Tomorrow through my next WI will be equally awesome. I know it’s a stretch, but I’m shooting for a 2.5+lb loss! My more attainable challenge for the week: running a 5k on the gym treadmill.

4 responses to “Another run, another victory

  1. At first, I sort of loved running, weeks 1 & 2 of C25K, once I got past perhaps week 3, I began dreading it. Hopefully once I lose a bit more weight, I will get back to it.

    PS-I used the tips you gave me at the doctor on Friday. I asked her about metabolic resistence and to have my thyroid checked. Wont know for another few weeks, but it was nice knowing a few things to ask about, so thanks!

  2. I have a love/hate relationship with running too. I feel awkward for at least the first 15 minutes, then all of a sudden, my breathing is better and I feel like I could go on forever.

    Although that’s on a treadmill, where I actually see how fast I am going on how far I’ve done – I always quit running at 3.1 miles though!

    Hopefully after my 101 days of summer challenge, I will be less jiggly and more adventurous to run outside!

  3. I’m with you – I hate running. I get really bored during a run and I have no idea why, but every fiber of my being wants to continually stop whether I’m outside or on the treadmill at the gym. I still do it because more than anything else I do it really helps me to loose and maintain my weight.

  4. Running isn’t for everyone and it doesn’t have to be. Have you tried cycling? Or swimming? There are a million things you can do besides running. I think the key to sticking with an exercise program is to do something you ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

