Dehydration

Sunday was Philly Pride so I was happy to spend the day with Evan on the Philly waterfront enjoying the festival and helping him and his business partner set up a tent for their business and sell some Made With Awesome shirts.

What I wasn’t counting on is that temps would be in the upper 80s and the heat index would be in the mid-90s. Within minutes of getting there, we were sweating our asses off. I thought I was being pretty good: I drank a 16 oz iced coffee on the way there, I packed a 32 oz water bottle, 2 20-ounce Vitamin Waters and Evan bought me a 32 oz lemonade and on the way home we stopped at Sonic for 20 oz Diet Vanilla cokes. Did ya do the math? That’s more than 120 ounces of fluids.

You think I’d be peeing all day, right? Nope. Not once between 7:30am when I woke up and we left for the festival until 7:30 pm when we got home.

I continued to drink another couple glasses of water after that, but I wasn’t really thirsty and thought for sure I was properly hydrated. Notsomuch. By then end of the night, I started getting a headache, which was only so much worse by the next morning. And it lasted all-freakin’-day. I continued to drink at least another 80 ounces of fluids and finally felt back to my normal self by the time I went to bed last night. Those fluids definitely caught up with me as my hourly pee runs really put a cramp in my napping style. (I took a sick day from work.)

Sheesh!

Needless to say, yesterday’s workout did not happen, but I stuck to the calorie plan.

Last week’s weigh-in showed an increase and I’m not really sure why. Hopefully, this week’s plan and focus will bring me closer to 15lbs lost so far this year.

This week’s plan:

  • Breakfasts: Egg Beater breakfast sandwich with 2% cheddar on a light wheat Fiber One English muffin OR homemade oatmeal with 1/4 cup Egg Beaters and some dried figs.
  • Morning Snack: 1% reduced sodium cottage cheese with chives from my herb garden
  • Lunches: 1.25 cups of roasted summer squash, onions, zucchini and red pepper with 1/4 cup of part skim ricotta on a low carb wheat wrap, cherries for “dessert”
  • Afternoon Snack: smoothie (1/2 cup Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup skim milk, 3/4 cup frozen fruit)
  • Evening Snack: SF Jello, SF FF pudding or Edy’s frozen coconut bar

TUESDAY

  • Dinner: pork lo mein (3oz pork loin, carrots, celery, onion, snow peas and whole wheat spaghetti seasoned with lite soy sauce and chili garlic paste)
  • Workout: 45 minute spin class, 15 minute jog

WEDNESDAY

  • Dinner: out with friends who are visiting
  • Workout: 750-1000 yard swim, weights

THURSDAY

  • Dinner: leftover pork lo mein
  • Workout: 1-1.5 hour open swim to prepare for the triathalon

FRIDAY

  • Dinner: jalapeno chicken sausage, brown rice, arugula and tomatoes
  • Workout: 60 minute long outdoor bike ride, weights

I spent less than 2 hours yesterday preparing my meals and snacks for the week. The lo mein is done, I roasted the veggies and packaged them up with the ricotta for my lunches and all of my snacks are packaged and ready to go. In fact, last week I bought JCPenney’s version of the Magic Bullet blender. It comes with extra blender cups and screw on tops, so I’m able to prepare three days work of shakes–just the yogurt and milk for now. All I have to do when I get home from work is add the frozen fruit, blend and sip as I get ready for and drive to the gym.

While two hours is a hefty chunk of time (typically I do this on Sunday afternoons/evenings), it saves me so much time during the week. I only have to clean up once. Since clean-up is my least favorite task (and sometimes more time-consuming than meal prep), doing it all at once makes it worth the occasional inconvenience of trying to find 1-2 hours for weekly food prep.

Enjoy the day! I’m off to work and ready to start the day chugging some ice water šŸ™‚

3 responses to “Dehydration

  1. Hah! I ran into the same problem–13 hours in the sun and heat at Capital Pride Festival here in DC left me uberdehydrated, despite having imbibed 272 ounces of liquid throughout the day. I went pee, once, around 9 PM. It was about 500 mL, and really dark yellow. Monday, I was wiped–but I had already taken the day off. I knew how it’d go. But I lost 2 pounds, so yeah!

    Hope you had a fun time at Philly Pride! Come down to DC’s next year. šŸ˜›

  2. Ha ha… I am now fully hydrated and showing a loss of a pound and a half since Friday. That could be a perk, but I reluctantly admit probably not a good long-term weight loss solution. Darn!

    Gosh–you must have felt like crap!

  3. Pingback: Shazaaam! « Downsized!

Leave a Reply

