The only thing between me and a size 14 is…

…my boobs.

Seriously. This week I ran errands at Target and as I’m prone to do, I got distracted by pretty things, specifically this mandarin collar, pumpkin-colored shirt dress.

Because of the A-line skirt, it fits my lower-body well, but one of the buttons on the top gaps in an attempt to show everyone my goodies.

No worries… nothing a little minimizer bra and discreet pinning can’t handle.

Maybe one of these days the twins will shrink a little with all this weight loss. So far, notsomuch.

Folks are probably wondering about the weight loss stuff. I forgot to WI last week. And this week, I have to WI a day early because I’m off to Evan’s tonight so we can head out for a long weekend in the Poconos tomorrow.

Result: I’m up 1.2 lbs.

Do I care? Kinda but not really. I mean, I finished a duathlon this week AND fit into a size 14 dress. I think I’m okay.

Despite the vacation plans, I do intend to make mostly smart choices, although I know my ability to stick to under 1300 calories a day will be quite restricted. Especially since I kinda want a beer. And ice cream. And it’s vacation. But we will be active too: water park, hiking, walking/shopping, maybe white water rafting. It’s my last bit of fun before the craziness of working at a College hits. Monday starts our professional staff training with student staff training starting August 9th. It’s all one big carnival world tour after this folks! I promise to return Monday with my weekly plan as well as a game plan for how to survive 6+ weeks of what will likely be some really long days, not much time off and meals in a college cafeteria. August is typically the month I’m most likely to maintain, but I think 2010 will be a bit different.

5 responses to “The only thing between me and a size 14 is…

  1. I absolutely know what you mean, Tina! Despite losing like 20 pounds this year, my boobs have not gone down at all! In fact, they look even bigger now since my waist and arms have gotten a bit smaller. I know some women don’t understand this problem in the slightest, but I feel big boobs often make women look heavier than they really are. In short, I totally feel ya!

  2. @Lauren! Where have you been? I’m still waiting for all that exciting news/updates you promised in May! 🙂

    And I’m torn on the boob issue. I’m so glad they’re not deflated but a little shrinkage would be nice. In the meantime, I’m investing in excellent bras!

  3. Heh, I can’t comment on the boobs, other than to say my manboobs make people think I have pecs. But I recently just fit into small (SMALL!!) shirts, and even though they’re a bit tight (hence the chest area being accentuated), I’m not going to complain if people think I’m ripped!

    After exercising a whole heck of a lot, weight loss/gain can be a bit screwy. It could be water weight/loss, or an increase in appetite, or muscle gain… So many different things. Awesome that you look at non-scale incentives to keep you motivated!

  4. You are looking glorious, girlfriend. If the dress didn’t fit your chest, then it’s the cut of the garment that’s to blame, not your figure, since you are clearly fitting into that size 14!

  5. I was at Target last week and had the exact same experience! Target is just not a good match for boobs. Your post made me think of one of mine I wrote last month or so:

    http://theskinnychronicles.com/2010/06/29/boobs/

    (My blog is pretty new, so don’t get too excited yet…)

Leave a Reply

