Breakfast Salad

Technically, we’re still in the middle of summer, but for those of us who work in the wonderful world of student affairs, specifically housing, it’s over. OVER.

My 10-month professional staff returned today and we started training. I’m excited for what the next 6 weeks will bring, but I also know it will be challenging, time-consuming and tiring. I still hope to blog 3 times a week, but please know that this promise could be taken back faster than a toddler realizing she does NOT want to share that candy bar after all.

I’ll try to share.

Today’s sharing–a wonderful new recipe. After spending the weekend with Evan in the Poconos and eating all meals out, I was dying for some fresh veggies–specifically the butter lettuce and tomatoes I picked up at the Farmer’s Market Thursday before I left town. But, going all healthy cold turkey like that would have given me mega withdrawal, so I accessorized my salad with my favorite meal of the day: breakfast.

It’s easy.

And not as unhealthy as it seems.

BREAKFAST SALAD

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of your favorite type of greens (my faves for this type of dish are boston lettuce, butter lettuce, baby spinach or arugula)
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 3 slices of center cut bacon
  • 1 poached egg
  • 1 English muffin, toasted
  • light buttery spread of your choice
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1.5 tsp dijon
  • 1 TBS cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper
  • seasoning salt

Directions:

  1. Chop your lettuce and place it in a large bowl. Add the tomato.
  2. Poach your egg. (Click here for directions on how to poach an egg.) Remove from water with a slotted spoon and gently place it on your bed of lettuce.
  3. Cook your bacon. Extra crispy is best. Blot with a paper towel then tear it into pieces and sprinkle it on your salad.
  4. Toast your English Muffin. Lightly butter it and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cut it up into crouton-sized bites and toss it on top of your salad.
  5. Whisk together vinegar, mustard, olive oil and a sprinkle of black pepper. If you really want to get your breakfast on and cut some of the tartness of the mustard and vinegar, add a teaspoon of honey or, better yet, real maple syrup. You know you want to!
  6. Drizzle dressing on salad. Eat. The best part is when the yolk is a little soft and coats some of the lettuce leaves.

Calories depend on the products you use and whether you add maple syrup (I didn’t–the inspiration hit me towards the end of dinner). I used a light English Muffin and a teaspoon of Smart Balance Light, so my dish came in at 350 calories.

2 responses to “Breakfast Salad

  1. Ooooo sounds so yummy! Tomorrow’s salad!

  2. YUM! Bacon makes everything better. I love the breakfast salad idea and will be trying this soon.

Leave a Reply

