This week’s menu is sponsored by Cooking Light

I cannot emphasize enough how vital it is for anyone who loves healthy, flavorful meals to pick up a Cooking Light subscription. I purchased 2 subscriptions–one for me and one for my sister–around the holidays and EVERY darn issue has at least 5 or 6 recipes that I want to try and love. (I’m making 4 from the August issue this week, but there are at least 5 more that I’ve flagged to make next week or the week after.)

Granted, they aren’t always the most healthy foods–like the cinnamon rollsΒ in the October 2009 issue, which sealed my love of the magazine forever–but they are at least healthier versions of foods I already love.

(If Cooking Light folks read this, I would like to request that you actually send out my issue before it hits newstands. I really hate that the cover stares me down at the supermarket for at least a week before it actually ends up in my mailbox.)

Anyhew, the August issue showed up Thursday, so I took it home with me to Connecticut for the weekend to pick what new dishes I wanted on my menu this week. See my food plan–with links!–below:

MONDAY

TUESDAY

WEDNESDAY

THURSDAY

FRIDAY

  • Lunch: leftover tomato panzanella
  • Dinner: out with my college friend Kim who’s coming into town for a Lilith Fair weekend. I haven’t seen her in years, so I’m incredibly excited!

Additionally, my morning snack will almost always be cottage cheese with veggies and my afternoon snack will almost always be a Greek yogurt smoothie (1/2 c. Greek yogurt, 1/2 c. skim milk and 1/2 c. frozen fruit). Evening snacks are whatever I’m in the mood for or have the calories for–typically pudding, a frozen Edy’s coconut bar or a little bowl of cereal. Breakfasts will either be:

  • egg beaters with 2% sharp cheddar on light multigrain toast
  • Light Vans waffles with a touch of syrup and hard-boiled egg on the side
  • oatmeal with egg whites and fresh blueberries

I haven’t figured out the nutritional info yet, but it seems like it will work out to 1200-1300 calories daily.

While I’m at it, I may as well tell you my workout plan:

  • Monday: 30 minute run & weight circuit
  • Tuesday: 30 minute swim
  • Wednesday: 45 minute spin class
  • Thursday: 45 minute spin class & weight circuit
  • Friday: 30-45 minute run

It’s my busy season at work, so there are no guarantees that I’ll be able to stick with this, but this is the schedule I’d really like to maintain between now and September because I’m thinking of doing another sprint tri in September. I don’t want to lose my fitness level too much and I’d prefer to increase endurance and speed. My work schedule will slow considerably by Labor Day weekend, so I should have the ability to ramp up my training for the last 4 weeks prior to the tri.

5 responses to “This week’s menu is sponsored by Cooking Light

  1. After reading your blog, I got a hankering for tostadas. They were YUM!

    Another sprint tri?!?! Yay for you! You can use those sweet swimming skills you worked so hard on. πŸ™‚

  2. forgot to mention for the tostadas – I bought regular corn tortillas and sprayed with cooking spray on both sides. 10 minutes at 400 and they were golden, crisp, and beautiful! Much better and healthier than the fried variety.

  3. I’m hoping to finally get a chance to use those swimming skills. And this one’s in a lake, which I think means less chance for cancellation and river current panic attacks.

    Thanks for the tostada tip. I got regular corn tortillas. Hope to make the recipe tonight since I ended up with some stomach issues last night so had toast instead.

  4. Sounds yummy! I’m always a tad irritated when I see magazines I subscribe to on the newstand before I get mine. It’s kind of an “You were supposed to be mine first!” feeling. I’m glad someone else understands.

  5. I love CL too – I wish my husband enjoyed more ethnic dishes – he’s a meat and potatoes kinda guy!

    Love your plan – hope you are able to stick to the workouts with your work schedule! πŸ˜€

    Hugs, Biz

Leave a Reply

