Guess what I’ve been listening to…

I’ve really lost motivation to push myself at the gym. My workouts have been easy ones–geared towards giving myself some me time and some activity knowing all of the sitting in meetings and preparing training sessions have rendered my body in some semi-permanent mimed chair position.

I need peace, strengthening and flexibility from my workouts. I’m still planning on Wednesday night spin class, but Monday is typically walking or elliptical, Friday will be a run and the weekend will include a leisurely bike ride. I’d like to add a yoga class.

I’ve decided to let myself take it easy, given the fact that work is busy and hectic–I need my workouts to be of a different pace if I don’t want to burn out or skip the gym more than I already am. It’s gonna suck come September when I gear up towards training for a Thanksgiving Turkey Trot that is a whopping (for me!) 4.7 miles, but that’s life.

Concurrently, my music cravings have ranged on that which is peaceful and calming. See! This is just where my mindset is these days.

Here are just a few of my latest favorites:

“The Orchard” by Ra Ra Riot

“White Blank Page” by Mumford & Sons

“Timshel” also by Mumford & Sons

“Tornado” by Jonsi (formerly of Sigor Ros)

“Zebra” by Beach House

“Norway” by Beach House

“Sweet Disposition” by The Temper Trap

“Two Weeks” by Grizzly Bear

“Junebug” by Robert Francis

“Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop” by Landon Pigg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erywPdFfORE&feature=avmsc2

And these aren’t even slightly new, but old favorites:

Tegan & Sara’s “My Number”

David Bowie & Arcade Fire performing “Wake Up”

So… anyone ready for a yoga class after all that?

4 responses to “Guess what I’ve been listening to…

  1. Other than David Bowie, Tegan & Sara are the only other group on my iPod! Very ecclectic, but I like it.

    I need more songs on my iPod too – I only have 300 songs and I have $35 buck s on my iTunes to spend.

    Thanks for the songs Tina!

  2. Sounds like your body must need some rest from all of that triathlon training and at least you are still being active! You’ll be back pushing yourself and training before you know it!

  3. I was really interested to hear “Timshel” since I’m rereading East of Eden because I assigned it as summer reading to my honors Am. Lit class. I’m liking the music, and although I usually need more upbeat tunes to workout to, I do think that any music that gets you in the right mindset to focus on you is a great choice.

  4. Just this morning I was thinking, hmmm…I need a fresh workout mix. I find your blog, AND some music ideas. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

