8k training: weigh-in, week 1 review & week 2 preview

Welcome to our regularly scheduled Sunday Monday post! First, some business: I’ve been out of town, a little unexpectedly, for a 4 day weekend visiting family in Connecticut. As a result, I wasn’t home for my regularly scheduled weigh-in day so that has been rescheduled for this morning.

I’m thrilled to have logged a full 1 pound loss. Especially since I’ve spent the past 4 days on the road, in a nursing home or in the hospital, including a “let’s send Dominoes to the ER waiting room since we’re starving, and it’s almost 8pm.” (For the record, they DO deliver, but it wasn’t within 30 minutes and it didn’t come with the plates and cups they promised.)

Training: Training is going well–of course, I expected it to with such a gradual start. I’m settling into my schedule and working it around other commitments fairly easily. For example, I made sure I left work on time so I could sneak in a run before bringing the cat to the vet Monday. And although I didn’t wake up early enough to run before getting on the road Thursday, I did commit to doing it at 8pm after a day of travel, visiting my grandfather in the nursing home and a late dinner with my mom. I did skip my run this weekend, because my calves were still screaming after running in toning shoes and changing my form a bit Thursday, but I feel about 90% back to normal for today’s run. Thank you all for the running advice last week. I’m still reading the comments and working on integrating some of them (outdoor runs! foam rollers) into my training plan.

How my body feels: TIRED! I’m not sure if it’s the training, some stress in my life right now or what, but I actually tried to take a nap Thursday–that’s how tired I’ve been. I am NOT a napper. After this weekend’s craziness, I may give myself today to have an extra rest day and run tomorrow instead.

As a result, I STRUGGLED to do my meal planning when I got home yesterday. I just didn’t want to do it or think about it. Fortunately, I got the new issue of Cooking Light in the mail this week and I DID feel like laying on the couch flipping through a magazine. Before I knew it, dinners were planned and the grocery list was done. It seriously took all of 15 minutes after reading that source of inspiration.

Diet: This has been a ridiculous struggle. Some of it is the fatigue. Some of it is just me not getting my head in the game. Fortunately, Thursday’s and Friday’s diet (despite a stop mid-drive to McD’s for a small hamburger and small fries for lunch Thursday) was much more on target.

Now… on to the future!

This week’s training plan is very similar to last weeks, only with my mileage increasing a bit. Monday & Tuesday’s plans are interchangeable, depending on how tired I feel by the end of the workday today (if this morning is any indicator, today will be a rest day):

  • Monday: Rest
  • Tuesday: 1.5 mile run & strength
  • Wednesday: 45 minute spin class & abs
  • Thursday: 1.5 mile run
  • Friday: stretch & strength (maybe 45 min spin class)
  • Saturday: 1.5 mile run & strength
  • Sunday: 45-60 minute spin class

Dinners this week:

Weekly Goals:

  • meet the same ole nutritional goals (1200-1300 calories, 50% of calories from carbs, 25% from fat, 25% from protein, 5 produce servings, 2 dairy servings, 25g fiber, sodium under 2200mg, 8 glasses of water)
  • Log food. Daily! No excuses!
  • Lost 1-2 pounds
  • Follow the training plan
  • Minimum 7.5 hours of sleep
  • Read daily
3 responses to “8k training: weigh-in, week 1 review & week 2 preview

  1. Next time your calves are sore… run… it will break up the lactic acid…

    Another thing to do after a rough run and a long stretch… lie on your back with your butt against the wall… legs in the air against the wall… hold it for 30 secs your first time but as you start doing it more you can stay in that position for longer… then stand up…. it will redistribute the lactic acid through your legs versus getting stuck just in your calves…

  2. Thanks, Val! (The leggy wall thing is also a good way of increasing your energy because of how it impacts circulation.) I don’t think it was lactic acid this time though since my calves started feeling it mid-run. I suspect strained muscles?

  3. If you had strained a muscle you would have been in more pain… maybe just tight muscles… more stretching… warm up for 2 mins.. stretch… then run…

Leave a Reply

