How to eat Outback & DQ and still stay under 1300 calories

Yup, long blog title but I was both surprised and impressed that I managed to stay under 1300 calories yesterday despite eating at Outback for dinner and sneaking in DQ for dessert.

Originally, I was supposed to make beef stew, but Saturday I noticed that the car smelled like coolant and something was leaking on the passenger side floor. This came after more than a week of hearing a dribbling sound (but seeing no fluids dripping anywhere) every time I took a left turn.

I considered calling the Car Talk guys but thought I should actually go to the dealer first since they’re experts too and the car (at only 5 months old and at 7,100 miles) was under warranty. Besides, everyone knows that you can only get on the radio show if you can mimic the sound and, try as I might, I couldn’t make a dribbling sound.

Long story short, within 90 minutes, I had an oil change and tires rotated (both needed), the car was washed and the interior was vacuumed, and the dealer found that there was a spider nest or something that blocked the A/C drainage hose. Less than $25 for all of it. (I am so thankful for purchasing a car at a dealer that gives free oil changes and car washes for the life of the car.)

As a result, it meant that Evan and I would be hanging out in Hamilton, which is about 25 minutes from our home and we wouldn’t be home until 8pm, so we took advantage of the fact that this dealer is smack dab in the middle of some shopping plazas that include Outback and Dairy Queen.

I planned my food for every meal and snack in advance. I even looked up nutritional information on Outback’s website which allows you to recalculate after making modifications.

I typically get:

6oz Outback special (steak) with a baked potato and either salad or mixed veggies. And I usually have a couple pieces of bread (which I couldn’t find on their nutritional calculator). Total calories: 1349.6 (not including the bread).

Instead, I considered getting:

6oz Outback special, green beans and mixed veggies, no bread. According to Outback’s calculations, it was still a little high. I wanted calories for DQ. Total calories: 588.7.

I noticed that you can get your meal “light style” which means no butter and no seasoning. Omitting butter is an obvious choice–you don’t really realize how much they put on the steak AND the veggies. Omitting the seasoning will significantly reduce the sodium.

So my remade meal: 6oz Outback special, green beans and mixed veggies, all without butter and seasoning came out to 315 calories. It also saved me approximately 20 grams of fat and more than 1000mg of sodium.

As a result, I got my Banana Cream Pie Blizzard Mini (a new, smaller size) for 370 calories.

I didn’t feel at all that I sacrificed flavor or what I wanted to eat. I used about a tablespoon of A-1 sauce to dip the green beans in because they needed a little oomph, but that was about it. And to drink, I had the usual: 2 large glasses (about 28-32 oz) of ice water with lemon.

Just so you don’t think that I was starving the rest of the day, here’s what I ate:

  • Breakfast: Fiber One English Muffin with Smart Balance, 1 egg and coffee with organic half and half.
  • Lunch: spinach salad with roasted butternut squash, mushrooms, goat cheese, walnuts and balsamic vinaigrette, cauliflower parsley soup, an apple and 2 Hershey Kisses.

Total calories consumed: 1285

The only time I was hungry was the hour before dinner. (And I will admit, Evan’s face fell when the waitress said “I’ll bring your bread out shortly” and I told her we didn’t need it. He was totally hoping I’d forget to mention that part.)

As a result, I’m already down a pound since Friday’s weigh-in.

5 responses to “How to eat Outback & DQ and still stay under 1300 calories

  1. Seriously fantastic job with Outback and DQ! When I saw the post I was waiting for something along the lines of “order water!” haha.

  2. my sister had her 17th bday 2 weeks ago and i spent the weekend leading up to her bday pushing for them to choose outback. i did this bc i knew all about the menu calculator and i wanted to try some dessert as well.

    LOVE playing with my food (online)! good job tina!

  3. Okay, that is amazing. Seriously, you are a rock star!

  4. Pingback: Downsized!

  5. Wendy Michaud

    Inspiring!

Leave a Reply

