October 11: Weekly Preview/Review

This was going to be written and posted Sunday, except our wedding weekend festivities lasted longer than anticipated. Evan and I didn’t get home until after 3pm yesterday, thanks to some hospitable friends who let us stay at their place in the city. The wedding was fun–it was on a pirate ship, featured great food and an open bar and even though I knew all 3-4 people (but not well), we had a blast. There will be  a post later this week on my fab dress shopping experience.

Despite the late return home, I did manage to plan my upcoming week and also start drafting some blog posts (or at least develop ideas) for this week while Evan and I were sprawled on the couch with the cat and season two of Breaking Bad (OhMyGod I love this show!). I feel prepared for the week–but it will be busy considering I am taking Thursday and Friday off which means Monday through Wednesday will be crammed full of work.

This past week was a pretty successful week, even though I had to go back to work for evening commitments 4 nights, had a wedding, 3 dinners out and a 4am wake-up call to drive someone to the airport. I lost 1.1lbs, enjoyed Outback and Dairy Queen and dressed in clothes that made me feel and look good all week. I feel like I’m much more focused than I was back in September. High five for a strong start, October!

Last week’s weekly goals were:

  • Limit caffeinated coffee to 1 cup in the afternoon: I did cut back on coffee, but didn’t stick rigidly to this plan… we’ll give it another try this week.
  • Limit daily grams of sugar to <30: this feels damn near impossible. I was cruising past 30 grams of sugar, even on days where I ate no sweet treats. I’ve been eating more apples and the occasional banana, which is keeping my sugar consumption high. I need to recraft this goal for this week.
  • meet the same ole nutritional goals (1200-1300 calories, 50% of calories from carbs, 25% from fat, 25% from protein, 5 produce servings, 2 dairy servings, 25g fiber, sodium under 2200mg, 8 glasses of water): Done 75-80% of the time. It was hard to judge with so many meals out. I met my calorie and nutrient ratio goal 5 out of 7 days and met fiber, produce and sodium goals all but 1 day.
  • Log food. Daily! No excuses! Done!
  • Lose 1-2 pounds weekly. Done! lost 1.1lbs.
  • Read daily: Again, not done.

This week’s planning:

Sunday/yesterday:

Monday: On call for work–it could be a low-sleep night, if it’s busy!

  • Exercise: 2mile run (intervals on the treadmill) & strength-training
  • Dinner: whole wheat pasta bowl with fresh spinach, red pepper flakes and turkey sausage

Tuesday: evening work commitment

Wednesday: PM commitment: errangs, including a Trader Joe’s trip

  • Exercise: 45 minute spin & abs class
  • Dinner: Monday dinner leftovers

Thursday: Day off!

  • Exercise: 2.5 mile run
  • Dinner: Roasted chicken, spinach salad, roasted potatoes and carrots

Friday: Day off!

  • Exercise: afternoon yoga class
  • Dinner: Tuesday dinner leftovers

Saturday:

  • Exercise: 2 mile outdoor run, weights
  • Dinner: Thursday dinner leftovers

Goals: I feel pretty confident that my logging and calorie goals have become habit now, so I’m taking them off the weekly list.

  • Limit coffee to 1 cup in the afternoon
  • Limit sweets to home-baked items in moderation & the occasional post-lunch piece of chocolate. 
  • Lose 1-2 pounds weekly
  • Read daily
3 responses to “October 11: Weekly Preview/Review

  1. senoritagordita

    READ WOMEN FOOD AND GOD ASAP and then let’s walk and talk about it non-stop

  2. Enhhhh… I don’t know. The whole “God” thing suggests to me that I may not relate to it. Convince me otherwise. I’ve heard good things about it–just not sure it’s “me.”

    Puh-lease go to Wednesday’s spin class!

  3. I love your weekly goals and menu this week!

    I too was iffy about “god” being in the titled, until my mother in law convinced me otherwise.

    I really believe this book isn’t titled correctly. For Christians, it won’t be enough god, particularly their god. And For non-Christians, the title will be too much god.

    Either way, I’m only on chapter five, but it reads more like a spiritual/universe sort of god rather than organized religion. If that makes any sense. I kinda got the “eat, pray, love” vibe in the sense that pray is about spirituality/meditation rather than rules and bible readings.

    Spirituality aside, what I’ve gained from this book so far is insight into eating. Why I eat, what I eat, how much I eat and what it says about how I deal with life. Roth states a few times that how you feel about life, what you love and fear is reflected on your plate.

Leave a Reply

