Food Fail

I made breakfast yesterday, but didn’t have time to eat it. Oatmeal. With egg beaters, vanilla and cinnamon. I was considering stirring in some pumpkin.

I was exhausted, so I chose to sleep a little later and eat breakfast at my desk. It didn’t happen. I was running later than anticipated and had to jump straight into a meeting. And then there was follow-up on the meeting. And then another meeting. And then a disaster called lunch:

  • 3/4 cup of baked potato soup
  • 1 cup of macaroni and cheese
  • something that was a cross between chicken nuggets and popcorn chicken
  • 1 pierogi
  • no vegetables
  • 2 chocolate cookies
  • a cup of coffee (I think it was decaf, but it wasn’t labeled)

And then I worked late and ran errands after work. I snacked on some pretzels in between. Dinner was some random stuff from the Wegman’s Wokery and a pear.

I felt like crap.

I’m bloated.

I had too many carbs.

I had one measly piece of produce.

I didn’t work out.

BUT I drank lots of water to try to rinse out my system. (5 glasses)

I parked far away from the store so I got extra walking in. And then I walked around campus tonight attending a couple programs and saying hi to several of my students.

I’m done eating.

I could have had multiple pierogies. I could have had seconds on the mac and cheese. I could have added some ice cream to those cookies. Or drank soda. And more coffee.

Lesson learned. Don’t Skip Breakfast. Today’s a new day.

Total damage: Surprisingly only 1338 calories, but 61 grams of fat, only 7 grams of fiber and 2740 mg of sodium.

Today’s Plan:

  • Already ate breakfast (Fiber One English Muffin with goat cheese and 1/2 cup of scrambled egg beaters)
  • Snack is packed: raspberries and raw almonds. There may be a nonfat (decaf) latte in my future too.
  • Lunch will be Mongolian Grill (shrimp, chicken and tofu, tons of veggies and brown rice) at the dining hall. No cookies but maybe a 25 calorie piece of the chocolate almond bar I have stashed in my desk.
  • Dinner is spaghetti squash with part skim ricotta and portobello mushrooms with a side salad. My dinner date? Brittany. She’s also my spin class date today.
4 responses to “Food Fail

  1. What you said!
    The sub-title of your blog-
    Learning
    Isn’t that what it’s all about?
    Good on ya for the new day!

  2. We all have those days…but it sounds like you are already back on the wagon. I am just so impressed you were able to add up the calories and such…even the sodium! When I have a bad diet day, I somehow don’t even manage to write it all down. Out of sight…out of mind (but not really).

  3. Why didn’t you just put it in tupperware and take it with you?

  4. I did but in the meetings I had, I couldn’t eat (conduct meeting with students and then interviewing a candidate). And in the in-between follow-up time, I wasn’t near a microwave to heat my now cold oats. I know… excuses, excuses…

Leave a Reply

