I ran 4 miles!

The last thing I wanted to do after such a crappy night of (lack of) sleep was run–nevermind run 4 miles for the first time in my life–especially since I had to be back at work 7:30-9:30pm, but I did it. I took it a mile at a time, jogged slowly (4-4.3mph) and took a 1 minute walking break after every mile plus another one at 2.5 miles because I had a wretched cramp in my rib. I played my IPod on shuffle, which gave me a good mix of run-appropriate music (Arctic Monkeys, The Fratellis, Dave Matthews Band, Tegan & Sara, Regina Spektor, etc.). My post run dinner was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and a pancake at the program I attended, coupled with about 24 ounces of water and 16 ounces of Crystal Light.

Today, I feel pretty good. My ankles are sore, but aside from that, I feel great. Today will be a rest day because Evan and I have a concert tonight, but tomorrow I’ll do a 2 mile run (either outdoors or intervals so I can work on speeding up a bit).

Next week’s long training run will be 4.5 miles. After that, it’s an abbreviated taper week before the 4.75 mile race on Thanksgiving Day. I can almost see the finish line!

6 responses to “I ran 4 miles!

  1. Hey, congratulations! That’s such an accomplishment in the physical sense, but almost even more so in the emotional sense, considering you had to got back to work after. Way to go!

  2. Thanks, Nicole! My motivation to go back to work was to tell everyone I saw “I RAN 4 MILES!!!” They may all think I’m crazy. 🙂

  3. YAY! I’m so excited for you. I can’t wait to hear how your race goes on Thanksgiving. Enjoy your last training week and your taper week!

  4. woohooo!!! congratulations!! so happy for you!

  5. Congrats on running 4 miles!!!

  6. You’re rocking it! Nothing can stop you now.

Leave a Reply

