From triathlons to trimesters…

Well, folks, it’s official! Evan & I are expecting a baby.

Yeah, I know. No one is more surprised than we are.We found out 2 days before Thanksgiving, but waited until we had our first OB appointment December 1 & saw family for the holidays to start spreading the news.

This has put so much into context: the insomnia, having the munchies, random weight gains (from bloating) and losses (from starting to burn extra calories due to the pregnancy).

Our due date is July 8, which means that any day now, the scale will start it’s gradual upward trend for the next 6 months or so. For a woman of my size, the doc recommends a weight gain of 11-20lbs. I’m trying to stick to that goal. Gaining too much or too little could have negative health consequences for The Kid.

We’re shocked. As in still are shocked. After all, for the past 15+ years, I’ve been told I likely won’t be able to get preggo without drugs that will make my body ovulate. And we were on the Pill. But, hey, that saying “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans” might have a literal significance here. When this little life happened, we were planning my grandfather’s funeral, considering booking a cruise and talking about what kind of wedding we wanted. I can now blame my preggo-addled brain for suggesting that we just elope. (Evan’s response “You’re hurting my soul by your lack of romanticism here.”)

So, going back to those plans, mine are needing some serious renovating. It was a good thing that my winter/holiday training plan was as simple as it was. I didn’t have energy for much more. But in the spring/summer, I planned to train for a few 5ks and another Sprint Triathlon. That won’t be happening. Instead, I’m practicing the “listening to my body” thing and balancing it with “listening to my brain” and following good health guidelines, because the urge to park my ever-expanding ass belly on the couch is all too tempting sometimes.

I’ve stopped running (thank you, preggo fatigue and tendinitis), but I’m still ellipticalling, walking and doing spin class (no more “loaded sprints” with that crazy spin instructor Dan). I’m also really emphasizing strength-training and stretching. If my belly is going to pop out, I’d at least like to attempt to distract people with Michelle Obama arms.

I’m excited, but we’re also so freakin’ nervous. Dude! We’re having a baby!

13 responses to “From triathlons to trimesters…

  1. Congratulations!!!!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! That is such amazing news!!! So happy for you both!!!

  3. Wow. That is SO cool. Congratulations. I am so happy for you both! So cool.

  4. Oh my gosh! Tina! Congratulations!

    I know you don’t post at EP anymore, so I’ve been following you over here. This is so exciting! And you are due on my birthday! Haha!

    If anyone will make an amazing mother, it will be you!

    Love,
    Carmie

  5. can’t believe it and SO excited!!!! wooo woooo!!

  6. Congrats!!

  7. Congratulations to you and Evan! I am so happy for you. You will be a GREAT mom.

  8. Congratulations to you both!! I have read your blog for some time (stalker…I know) and am just thrilled for you! I was told I wouldn’t be able to conceive…and we now have 2 beautiful children. Both surprises! Life is so unexpected. Enjoy the holidays!

  9. Congrats!! Looking forward to following your excitement via blog.

  10. I’m so excited for you! So happy for both you and Evan 🙂

  11. Splendid news! I am dead pleased for you and know you’ll be a rockin’ mama. I’m also really excited to use you as my “guinea pig” to see how pregnancy and maintaining healthy habits works! Hurrah! Hopefully (if we are ever in the same country again) Y and I can start a family soon too! Ha!

    Eeeeeeeee though…I bet you’re SO excited! I am, and we’ve never even met! Yay! Congratyooooolations!

  12. Yay congrats!!!!!!

    I’ll admit, I’m behind in blog reading and read the latest post first and thought WTF HAVE I MISSED??? And then wondered exactly how far behind have I let myself get. Now I know 🙂 Congratulations on heading towards Mommy land!!!!

  13. CONGRATS!! That is such exciting news! I can’t wait to read all about it. I’m so happy for you, especially since you thought there was a chance you might not get pregnant. Wahoo!

Leave a Reply

