Fitness & Nutrition for 2011

Since I’m dropping the calorie counting from my routine, I figured I still needed a reminder of my good health guidelines to prevent me from living on cookies for the new year. Here are my daily nutritional goals:

  • Water: 8-10 glasses a day (admittedly, I’m okay if a few of these are from decaf green tea, juice, etc.)
  • Protein: 3 servings, but some protein-containing food with every meal and snack
  • Dairy: 3 servings
  • Fruit: 2-4 servings
  • Veggies: 4 servings
  • Quality carbs: 6-11 servings
  • Healthy fats: 3 servings (avocado, nuts, nut butters, olive oil)

Fitness schedule: I just learned that one of my fave spin instructors is no longer doing the Wednesday class, so that allows me an extra free evening.

  • Monday: 7pm Walk & Weights Express class
  • Tuesday: morning walk (2-4 miles)
  • Wednesday: REST
  • Thursday: 20 minute weight circuit & 6:30pm spin class
  • Friday: Lunchtime walk & weights express class
  • Saturday: REST
  • Sunday: 9:30am spin class

SAMPLE DAILY MEAL PLAN:

Breakfast:

  • oatmeal & 1 TBS peanut butter or 1/4 cup of egg whites, glass of orange juice OR
  • 2 eggs with 2 slices of light whole wheat toast, glass or orange juice

Morning Snack:

  • piece of fruit and a light string cheese OR
  • nonfat latte OR
  • 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt with 1/2 cup of fruit and a TBS of nuts or crunchy, high-fiber cereal

Lunch:

  • It depends on what the dining hall is serving. I often go for stir fry or soup and either salad or a 1/2 sandwich.
  • This week, I’m packing my lunches and will have Tuscan vegetable soup and a cheese sandwich or cheese and crackers.

Afternoon Snack:

  • My all-time favorite: Greek yogurt smoothie made with frozen fruit and skim milk

Dinner:

  • a serving of protein, 1-2 servings of complex carbs and 2 servings of veggies

Dessert:

  • fruit, ice cream, pudding or a 1/2 bowl of low-sugar cereal with skim milk.
Leave a Reply

