Too chunky

Sorry for my blog neglect. I’ve been doing lots of reading, lots of thinking, lots of sleeping and lots of planning. I was planning to start job searching this year, but since I’ll be super pregnant during job search “season” for my field, and I’m due right around the time most jobs would start, I’ve decided to formally put that on the back burner and develop plans to really build skills and experiences in this next year that will help me succeed in whatever that next step is. I also think it would be more than a little crazy to start a new job with a new baby. I’m not wackadoodle enough to try it, and I know that is just too much change for me.

I’ve been doing this personal and career exploration thanks to Women, Food & God (which in addition to teaching me about my relationship with food also taught me about taking the same love and care towards other things in life), Tom Rath’s Wellbeing and Donald Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. That book is hella transformational! You should read some of the discussion we’ve been having on the Women, Food and Blog book site. (And, I just may have written the discussion starter for today’s topic, Chapters 10-13.)

In other news, I am gaining too much weight in my pregnancy, and it kinda sucks. I’m up nearly 7lbs at just 16 weeks along. If I continue at this pace, I will have gained at least 20lbs by the time it’s all over. The doc strongly recommended only a 15lb gain. The good news is I’m still wearing regular clothes and the gain only seems to be in my belly. Potential reasons for this gain:

  • I’m monitoring but not fully tracking food
  • Less intense exercising (doc said I should keep my heart rate below 145. I used to exercise up to 165/170.)
  • A little less exercise overall. I used to do 5 days a week solid, with 4 workouts being 45-60 minutes. Now I’m doing two 45-minute workouts and two or three 30 minute workouts.

I’m fairly certain I’ve been eating about 2,000 calories daily. (The recommendation for “normal” pregnant women in their second and third trimesters is 2300-2500 calories daily. If I were “normal,” I think I’d totally be able to do this with a healthy rate of gain, especially since I’m 5’9″ tall.) I suspect that because of the PCOS, my body still metabolizes calories differently and gains weight easily, but I’m trying to make sure I’m getting good nutrients in addition to whatever I get with my prenatal vitamin.

I DID track my calories today–even though I had lunch at Panera and thought it might be a disaster calorie-wise. It wasn’t. Here’s what I ate or am planning to eat:

Breakfast:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of light wheat toast
  • Smart Balance Light
  • grande nonfat latte

Morning Snack (11am)

  • 1 oz cheddar cheese
  • apple

Lunch (2pm)

  • Tomato soup
  • small bag of chips
  • 1/2 of a tomato & mozzarella sandwich

Afternoon Snack (5:30pm)

  • Smoothie (1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of skim milk and 1/2 cup of frozen peaches)

Gym (6:30pm)

  • Spin class-45 minutes

Dinner (8pm)

  • brown butter sage chicken (from Cooking Light)
  • 1 cup of steamed veggies
  • 3/4 cup of brown rice with oil-free sauteed onions

Nutrients:

  • 1976 calories
  • 5 servings of veggies (onions and steamed veg make a triple serving at dinner, soup was a double serving, especially with the tomato on the sandwich)
  • 2 servings of fruit (apple, peach)
  • 3 servings of dairy (latte is almost 2, plus cheese at morning snack and cheese on sandwich)
  • protein between eggs, cheese, milk and chicken give me just over 100g of protein for the day (20% of total calories)
  • 22g of fiber

I am going to make sure I’m consistently tracking my food and share my food journals with the doc the next time I see her. I know I can fine tune my diet a bit (example: I could have made healthier, lower fat or healthier fat swaps for those cheeses by substituting almonds or walnuts, I didn’t need the chips and I DO need to consume better quality carbs) and I know I can increase my exercise a bit, but beyond that, there’s not a whole heck of a lot I can do.

The good student in me is conflicted between getting all of the nutrients I need and the weight gain. It’s a bit frustrating. I’m trying to put myself in a mindset that says “If you’re eating healthy amounts of healthy nutrients, gaining a few extra pounds won’t be detrimental to the pregnancy” but I don’t know if I totally believe that. Again, I guess we’ll just see what the doctor says.

6 responses to “Too chunky

  1. By looking at your intake for today, I think you’re doing a great job of getting in proper nutrients for you and baby! Maybe some of the gain was from the holidays.
    Just wait for the cravings!! For me it was McDonald’s cheeseburgers and oranges. Enjoy pregnancy, it’s such a fun time except for the last couple weeks (but I had a 9 lb kid). I had a clumsy period where I fell 2 times but managed to roll to the side so not to hurt the baby. You’ll hear so much about everyone else’s experience that you’ll probably want to puke. Enjoy your own unique experience!
    Take care.

  2. @Tina: Surprisingly, I’ve had really healthy cravings: dairy and fruit almost consistently since day one! (Well… and pickles and green olives…) I do feel good about what I’m eating and how much I’m eating–just getting nervous about what the number on the scale means for overall health as well. And 9lb kid? Please, God, no! Although Evan was a big baby, so I suspect that’s a distinct possibility. Thanks for the support and commenting 🙂

  3. I am so proud of you. I know so many people who have the “I’m pregnant so I have an excuse to eat whatever I want!” I’m so glad you’re not throwing all your hard work away.

    A few things: I’m assuming you read RonisWeigh, right? She’s talking a lot right now about staying healthy and maintaining healthy habits during pregnancy. I love the way she looks at herself as in training for birth. Just love it.

    I don’t know if you read AngieAlltheWay, but she has PCOS, had a baby 5 or so months ago, and is working at getting the weight back off. If you need links, let me know and I’ll get them to you.

    Thanks for the book club blog love. I love that I’m learning more about myself through reading than writing. Who knew?

  4. Wow so many Tinas!!
    I am 19 weeks now & have gained 10lb.
    A lot of that is down to my hip pain preventing exercise but it is down to food too.
    Everybody gains weight at different rates – I was only 2lb up at 16 weeks & gained the rest since then (not too much holiday eating either).
    My advice: check your water intake. I definitely have bloated days when I’ve not had my 2 litres the day before.
    Xx

  5. I do adore you but I think you already interviewed for that new job this year. It’s called “mother” and I know you will get fantastic evaluations! xoxox

  6. you’re doing all the right things and being very mindful of your everyday habits – don’t get down on yourself, girl! I think you are a great example of healthy pregnancy. Can’t wait to read more as you progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

