Survival

It’s pretty pathetic that I’m only going to work today for two reasons:

  • It’s opening day and I want to be there for my staff if any problems pop up. Additionally, I have 2 or 3 “must do” tasks on my task list for today.
  • Today is technically a state/federal holiday. We’re fully open, but those who work earn a day and a half off for use later in the year. I want that extra time.

Not only did I tweak my back last week–within 24 hours of talking to an ol high school friend about pregnancy-aggravated back pain–but yesterday, I got hit with some nasty cold that has left my head feeling like cement and which has forced me to keep a Kleenex permanently pressed to my nostrils.

It ain’t pretty.

By the way, coughing when you have a tweaked back? Not recommended.

So, I’m sucking down the fluids (OJ, decaf green tea, water, seltzer), Purell-ing like it’s my job and counting down to 4:30pm when I can jet home and put on my PJs and take a nap. Oh–and Evan picked up some wonton soup for me at the local Chinese take-out restaurant, so I’d have a cold-friendly lunch today.

Because of the back, walking will be the predominant exercise this week, but I am contemplating taking today off because of the cold. Instead, I’ll take a series of 5-10 minute walks throughout the day to clear my head and stretch my back.

Despite the craziness of working all weekend (and long hours on Saturday–8a-8p), meals are planned. Chicken chili, a lightened up Mexican tortilla casserole and steak, baked potatoes and broccoli and green beans. Dinner Thursday will be out as a belated celebration of Evan’s and my anniversary (three years today!).

What’s your health plan for the week?

4 responses to “Survival

  1. oh! i feel for you! i got a really nasty cold in my first trimester. you can’t take anything…i remember how it just feels awful. i’m sorry you have back pain! i hope you can find good treatment that works with your pregnancy. tell your partner you accept prenatal massage gift certificates 🙂

  2. I got your cold too. It’s so weird because I haven’t had a cold for 10+ years! I ended up going to WW on Saturday morning (up .2, but I think it was the Chinese I had the night before!) went to a 65 minute Body Combat class with my daughter, went out to lunch with my hubs.

    I had my usual laundry list of things to do (i.e., make bread, mop the kitchen floor, laundry). My husband has an electric throw blanket, and I layed down on the couch and was like “do you mind if I use your blanket for a couple minutes before I mop the floor?”

    Two hours later I woke up! And yesterday, I never got out of my p.j.’s! I did cook a little, have somewhat of a meal plan, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a good week.

    Hope you feel better too! 😀

  3. Love chicken chili!
    Get better sooner!

  4. Thanks everyone!

    @Biz: You’re so lucky! I typically get a nasty head cold (which sometimes turns into a sinus infection) EVERY January!

    @Katy: Thanks! I think I’m gonna book some appointments with an acupuncturist. Bonus points to her if the needles give us a ginger baby.

Leave a Reply

