Snow Days

This weather pattern and my work schedule is seriously destroying any plans I’ve made to work out. So far, we’ve had significant snow fall (or ice) 5 out of the past 19 days (and more ice Tuesday and Wednesday this week), limiting travel. I’ve also had to work 4 out of the last 6 weekend days (and the next two!).

It’s also really difficult to write a health and wellness blog when you feel like you’re not doing too much to positively impact your health and wellness. I’m doing basic stuff:

  • drinking tons of water
  • 2-4 servings of dairy daily
  • walking to work and back each day (sometimes multiple times daily). It’s only a little more than 1/4 mile each way, but it adds up. Taking walking breaks for 5 minutes every couple hours at work.
  • cooking healthy, well-balanced meals
  • Trying out new recipes: Last week I tested out a pork stir fry with a ginger/peanut/soy sauce from Rocco DiSpirito’s Now Eat This cookbook–delicious! This week, I’m making lightened up (better quality fat source, added veggies, reducing sodium) versions of quiche lorraine, General Tso’s chicken, shrimp pad thai and maple-glazed pork.

Areas for improvement:

  • More activity
  • More sleep. My schedule has been off since last Monday.
  • Eat more veggies. I’m at 2 servings of fruit daily, but only 2-4 servings of veggies.

Fortunately, a week with fewer night commitments should assist my sleep schedule and the new recipes will increase my veggie intake. My motivation is actually there–in fact, last night I had a dream in which I was running. I was so happy, felt so good and incredibly relaxed. This week’s plan is:

MONDAY:

  • General Tso’s chicken
  • clean house, bake for work event

TUESDAY:

  • leftovers
  • attempt the weather to go to a book-signing at Barnes & Noble (more on that tomorrow!)

WEDNESDAY

  • shrimp pad thai
  • run errands with Evan, watch Groundhog Day in celebration of the soon-ish end to winter

THURSDAY

  • maple glazed pork chops, roasted butternut squash and sweet potatoes, salad with apple, walnuts and craisins
  • planning time with Evan: we’re developing a list of things we want to do before the baby is born and attempting to schedule weekends to do it. (First on my agenda: vacation! To somewhere warm!)

FRIDAY

  • quiche and salad
  • walk 45 minutes, weight training, stretching

SATURDAY

  • dinner TBD
  • walk or elliptical 45-60 minutes

SUNDAY

  • dinner TBD
  • walk 45 minutes, weight training, stretching
One response to “Snow Days

  1. I believe you have Netflix. Take advantage of that.

Leave a Reply

