The bump has arrived!

So for the past couple weeks I’ve been bitching and moaning about my weight gain with no bumpage that proves I’m not just gaining chub but baby. Then, before my very eyes, my body changed.

I swear it was almost overnight. Sure, my clothes have been fitting me strangly over the past couple months, but this was different.

Friday, I wore a pair of my fave dark bootcut jeans. They fit comfortably, but required the rubber band trick to keep the button closed. Sunday, we had our Oscar party (hope to finish that blog this weekend). I put on the same pair of jeans, but couldn’t even zip them. Even then, I still felt like a stuffed sausage. On Monday, I showed up to work and saw a colleagues face light up and she nearly squealed. I turned around expecting that someone was behind me with either a cute kid or cupcakes. That’s when one of them said “Tina! You finally look pregnant!”

Yup. I do.

The Kid is 22 weeks old, about 8-ish inches and more than a pound. It makes me wonder where the other 14lbs I’ve gained have gone. Fortunately, although my doc recommended a max 15lb gain for me for the entire pregnancy (I still have 18 weeks to go and I’ve hit that mark), I’ve learned that weight gain isn’t all baby (nor is it all on my ass). Weight gain during pregnancy also goes to the following:

  • increased blood supply: 4 lbs
  • placenta: 2-3lbs
  • amniotic fluid: 2-3lbs
  • the boobs: 2-3lbs
  • increased size of the uterus: 2-5lbs
  • fat stores for delivery & breastfeeding: 5-9lbs (I can probably do without this as I had plenty of fat stores & was still overweight prior to becoming pregnant)

After spending years losing (and mataining a total loss) of 70lbs, the weight gain is frustrating only because it’s happening more quickly than I anticipated and than my doc recommended; however, I’m comforted by the fact that colleagues and friends have assured me that when The Kid has a foot in my stomach and a fist in my lung in that last trimester, I won’t want to eat anyway. Many of them lost a little weight in the last month or two.

I haven’t been tracking my daily food intake or calories regularly, but I know my day is typically like this:

  • Breakfast: toast and 2 eggs or oatmeal and a skim latte (250 calories)
  • Snack 1: fruit and yogurt or fruit and cheese (150 calories)
  • Lunch: 500ish calories
  • Snack 2: smoothie or same as snack 1 (150 calories)
  • Dinner: 500ish calories (Tuesday was grilled fish, salad and a half of a baked potato; last night was homemade pizza and salad)
  • Other picky things: typically 100 calories worth of pretzels and 100 calories worth of chocolate (measured) per day.
  • total calories: 2000

What’s probably leading to the weight gain is that I’m eating more carbs than usual (while I typically reduce my carbs, in pregnancy, it’s vital to fetal development, chocolate excluded–that’s just me being a selfish brat who likes cocoa!) and my gym routine is lacking. I love spin & running, but can’t really do either anymore. Walking and the elliptical are way too boring for this momma. I’ve intentionally started building my gym time around things like Jeopardy to keep me entertained.

The reason you notice I’m not blogging as much is because I won’t let myself get distracted by blogging or the computer until I get some activity in. By the time I get home and make dinner, I’m ready for bed or too brain-dead to blog. And it’s tough. My pre-preggo blogging consisted of developing training plans, meeting new fitness goals and falling in love with new workouts–things that were inspiring and motivating. I struggle with having something to write about these days. What am I supposed to say? That I got every question right on the Jeopardy Teen Tournament? Blah! Not interested. Neither are you. And I don’t know that I want this to turn into a baby blog (maybe a separate one, but I’m not giving up my fitness/healthiness identity yet!)–despite the fact that I’m awestruck by a foot nudged into my bladder and worry that one of these days, just the right kick will make me pee my pants at work. Now that would be embarrassing.

I will say that I have some upcoming posts planned on nutrition and body image (as well as the previously mentioned Oscar post). Next week is Spring Break which should mean fewer nighttime commitments and less likelihood of work blurring into my personal time, which will leave more time for this little downsized space.

So now that I’ve spilled… how are you all doing?

 

 

5 responses to “The bump has arrived!

  1. you really do look great. it looks and sounds like you’re doing all the right things. Can’t wait to see the bump grow even more 🙂

  2. you look great and i can’t wait to see you tomorrow!

  3. I’m so glad everything is progressing so well. You look fabulous and the bump is very cute! And I’m sure once the baby is delivered and everything is swirling around you in a bustle of new-baby activity, the weight (if there IS any extra) will drop off as easily as it appeared. Plus you’re hella organised and determined and if a little is hanging about, it won’t be for long. I’m living vicariously through your pregnancy at the moment, though we are both kinda developing babies- you a REAL one, obviously, and me a HOUSE baby. Hey, it kinda works. Labour/labour? No? Anything? No?

    Ok, sometimes they suck, the gags. Gimme a break. Ha.

    Take care!

  4. You look beautiful!! And you’ll lose that baby weight within the first month the baby is born – I think I lost 20 pounds that month – mostly just water weight!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. You are the most adorable pregnant lady ever! I hope you’re doing well! I’ve missed your posts!

    Carmie

Leave a Reply

