Oscar festivities!

I haven’t done this in a long time, but I LOVE throwing Oscar parties. There’s something fantastic about being able to combine a fashion critique, comment on bad acceptance speeches, predict winners and share it all with good food and friends.

Evan and I hosted an Oscar party last Sunday night. We’ve wanted to do this since we started dating, but he has always had to work that day. This year, we were in luck. He had the day off. I had the weekend off. And we had friends who wanted to join us.

One thing you should know about Evan & I: between my work in student affairs (including event planning) & his work as an overall creative genius/art director type, our parties are active, engaging and planned. At least I think so.

Our guests were instructed to arrive in costume–according to a character from a 2011 Oscar nominated film.

Despite being unable to find the right colored gear, I was Jessie from Toy Story. Evan was Rooster from True Grit.

Most of our friends came sans costume, but one (the sneaky bastard) was played an actor who did the voice over work for one of the Oscar-nominated animated films and another showed up in his college hoodie and jeans in an attempt to be Jesse Eisenberg as Mark Zuckerberg in The Social Network.

Had more people appeared in character, we would have given this little beauty away:

Creepily inspired by Natalie Portman's Black Swan character.

Our Best Costume award, inspired by Natalie Portman in Black Swan. Evan did the make-up handiwork with a couple of Sharpie paint pens.

Everyone participated in the food, including cupcakes. These were chocolate chip with vanilla buttercream, topped with a red carpet of sprinkles, a white chocolate star and handmade Oscar flag. You can’t see it in this picture, but we found some gold foil cupcake liners at Michael’s which continued the gold/red color theme.

Chocolate chip cupcakes with vanilla buttercream, a white chocolate "gold" star and red carpet sprinkles.

There were also other snacks: a CrockPot dish of kielbasa, spinach artichoke dip, pita chips, pumpernickel pretzels, raw veggies, dill dip, tortilla chips, guacamole and pico de gallo. We also had beer, wine, mixed drinks, sparkling cider and sodas, but this crowd wasn’t a big drinking crowd–especially on a work night.

Finally, everyone participated in the Oscar predictions game (you can download a 1-page list of nominees on the Oscar website). I was ahead most of the night, but got taken down by our friend Seth who was wayyyyy behind until the last hour of the telecast. Seth won a trophy too.

Meet Oscar!

I will say, despite all the fun and shenanigans, that Oscar ceremony was about the worst I’ve seen in the 10+ years I’ve been watching. Did you watch it? What did you think?

3 responses to “Oscar festivities!

  1. Ummm, can you and evan plan my next party? Looks like fun with lots of tasty food 🙂

    I’m with you on the oscar show. I thought Ann and James were pretty terrible as hosts and the show really dragged. also, there were *no* surprise winners which is always kind of a bummer. is it just me or are the oscars becoming more and more predictable every year?

  2. I love the effort you put into it! It looks like it turned out amazingly well.

    I totally agree with you about this year’s Oscars. Awful.

  3. Dear lord, I completely agree! I LOVE the Oscars, but this year’s show was downright painful! Your party looks amazing, though. Right up my alley! 🙂

Leave a Reply

