Little Goals versus Big Picture

Last night, I so badly wanted to repeat what I did last Thursday: go to the gym and power through a 30 minute cardio workout and fit in a weight circuit before going home and catching up on sleep. As the day wore on, I became more and more fatigued.

Instead, I took a nap. It was meant to last 45 minutes (I set my alarm), but ended up lasting 2 hours. At 7:30, I woke up hungry and realized the only activity in my future was heating up dinner and walking up the stairs to go to bed. So that’s what I did.

I ended up sleeping a total of 10 hours and feel much better for doing that. I’ve been more focused and productive today and (mostly) more patient and appreciative. Sleep is often my miracle drug.

I’ll definitely hit up the gym tonight and have drafted a plan for the rest of the week that allows me to take a day or two off (and still meet my goal) if circumstances require it:

  • Tuesday: 30 min bike, weight circuit after work
  • Wednesday: 30 min walk in the morning
  • Thursday: 30 min walk in the morning
  • Friday: 30 min bike and weight circuit after work
  • Saturday: off (shopping/errand day)
  • Sunday: off or make-up session
At first, I was feeling bad about my decision to sleep instead of getting much-needed exercise, but then I realized the amount I slept and the sheer fact that I actually napped (I am so not a napper) was a sign that I needed that more. Doing that showed balance. Yes, I can strive to achieve my smaller goals, but I also need to keep the big picture in mind. For me, the smaller goal was fitting in a specific amount of exercise this week, but the bigger goal is taking care of myself and finding balance in my life.
I’m using the following quotes as reminders and motivation to stay on track and make good decisions:
“Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance, order, rhythm and harmony.” ~ Thomas Merton (a Catholic writer and Trappist monk)
“Just as your car runs more smoothly and requires less energy to go faster and farther when the wheels are in perfect alignment, you perform better when your thoughts, feelings, emotions, goals, and values are in balance.” ~Brian Tracy (a self-help author)
3 responses to “Little Goals versus Big Picture

  1. So true, Tina! That’s exactly how I felt last night–and I also slept for a good ten hours! If I push myself and don’t get enough sleep, I find I often completely overeat the next day. When I don’t get real energy, I need excessive food energy to keep going. Not good!

  2. I think you’re doing the right thing by listening to your body and giving it what it needs.

    And I love those quotes! Balance is such a hard thing to maintain (for me, at least), but I’ve found that once you make it a priority, your whole life gets better.

  3. That’s a great way to look at it Tina – I am glad that you listened to your body and got all that sleep! I am usually asleep in 2 minutes, so I typically get a solid 7-8 hours sleep easy.

Leave a Reply

