The Balance Calendar Progress Check

The reason I originally gained weight–or got fat, for those who can handle the honesty–is lack of balance:

  • too many hours at work and not enough play time or me time
  • too many carbs and not enough veggies, protein or healthy fats on my plate and
  • too much time sitting and not enough time moving my butt

I was feeling that lack of balance last month big time. That combined with my faster than I wanted (and faster than was recommended) pregnancy weight gain influenced my desire to get that balance back in my life again. I may not be permitted to lose weight, but I’m certainly not restricted from employing those healthy habits I’ve been plugging away at the past few years. So I started the balance calendar in an effort to get some of that back.

Here’s how I’ve done so far:

  • week 1 (workouts): excellent
  • week 2 (20 min reading a day): I managed to read three hours that week, but it was throughout 2 days–not spread evenly throughout the week as was my original intention.
  • week 3 (delegate): yup! I asked Evan to do a few things around the house (and he was rewarded with a girlfriend who had more energy during our date nights later in the week) and appropriately assigned some tasks to colleagues.
  • This week (add a yoga session into my routine): Since it’s a dreary, rainy day today, and I don’t have the desire to go out in the crappy weather to get to the gym and fight the crowds, I’m doing a yoga DVD at home tonight.
  • 

What I’ve learned:

Oddly enough, I’m finding there is NO such thing as balance in the way I’m trying to define it. Balance isn’t breaking each day into little boxes of personal time, work time, family time, sleep, exercise, etc. I’m realizing that I need to remember to back up and look at the big picture. So was I disappointed that I only got in one or two easy workouts last week? Yes. But that disappointment faded when I realized Krissie, Lorrie, Josh, Miranda and I walked at least 8.5 miles throughout Washington, DC Saturday. Was I irritated that reading wasn’t a daily part of my week during week two? Yes. And then I realized that I still managed to spend a significant amount of time reading (and even finished a book) that week–it was just in bigger clumps of time.

I’m translating this to other aspects of life. This balance thing may mean being okay with a few less than stellar workouts as long as I get 1 or 2 killer workouts each week. It’s having trade-offs: like last week when I decided that I’d spend my free hour getting a pedicure instead of sweating at the gym. I realized needed relaxation/rejuvenation time more than a sweatfest in that hour. Also, some of these “balancing” tasks aren’t even daily occurances. They’re weekly or monthly (yoga, delegating, household chores). I’ll be damned if I’m trying to fit in a weekly mopping of the floor when I have a newborn begging for my attention or a day that I can spend with the grown-up love of my life (uh, Evan!). But a monthly scrubbing of the floor? I can do that.

So I’m looking forward to some of the other tasks on the calendar, as it’s helping me be more conscious of being attentive to what I need in the moment and how that will help me get to the bigger goal of living my life purpose of being the best version of me that I can be by taking care of my health, spending time with my family and meeting the goals I have for myself at my job.

3 responses to “The Balance Calendar Progress Check

  1. I LOVE the idea of a balance calendar!!!

  2. I think you’re finding your version of balance, and that’s the most important thing. It will never be “perfect,” but as long as you’re feeling more, well, balanced, then it’s working. Plus, these are huge changes that you’re undertaking and they take time. I know from my own experience with trying to achieve balance after years of workaholism that it isn’t the most natural thing at first, but now I can’t imagine living like I used to. Good for you for a great first month.

  3. I loved reading this post. I think we struggle to much trying to get it all in, and if one thing doesn’t get done as we planned, we feel like a failure.

    Love the big picture idea too! I actually lost weight while I was pregnant because I ate so healthy – I made stir frys probably about 4 times a week – and today, my 19 year old daughter loves stir frys – she thinks its because she “ate” them so much when I was pregnant with her!

    And I hated red meat while pregant – and guess what – Hannah doesn’t like red meat either!

    Happy Friday – I hope you have a balanced weekend!

Leave a Reply

