Cleaning Schedule Accomplished!

The Balance Schedule is getting done!

Developing the cleaning schedule had the most surprising outcomes. First, I realized the list of things that need to get done isn’t really all that overwhelming when broken up into smaller tasks. Secondly, for the most part, the weekly tasks are not time intensive. Dusting the bedroom takes 15-20 minutes. The bathroom will take about a half hour. Laundry can get done while watching TV. Finally, it made it easier to see how often Evan contributes. It seems like we naturally broke the tasks down 50/50.

Just seeing all this on paper and realizing how effectively we work together makes me feel better.

I did not assign days to complete different tasks. That will happen on a week-to-week basis, depending on my work and travel schedule.

Cleaning Schedule

Weekly Tasks

  • Vacuum downstairs (Evan)
  • Clean/empty litterbox (Evan)
  • Dust bedroom (Tina)
  • Clean bathroom (Tina)
  • Laundry, 2-3 loads weekly (Evan & Tina)

Every Other Week Tasks:

  • Vacuum upstairs (Evan)
  • Dust living room (Tina)

Monthly Tasks:

  • Mop kitchen floor (Tina)

As Needed:

  • Take out trash (Evan)
  • Clean kitchen (Evan does after dinner clean-up, Tina does deep cleaning jobs and post-breakfast clean-up)
  • Vacuum stairs between front door and main level (Evan)
  • Clean office (Evan)
6 responses to “Cleaning Schedule Accomplished!

  1. I think having a schedule makes everything easier!

  2. lololol You dust??? Wow I can’t wait to see what chores Charlie gets assigned! You are so organized. I need you to come live with me!! xoxoxo

  3. I HAVE to dust. Evan and I both have bad allergies. It’s one of my least favorite chores (second to cleaning the toilet). And yes, we can’t wait until Charlie is old enough to pick up a few things from our chore list. I think Evan would like to give him dishwasher duty and I’d love to pass on dusting.

  4. This is great! I love how just writing something down and breaking it up into smaller bits makes it so much more manageable.

    I was telling my sister the same thing the other day when she was overwhelmed with the cleaning at her house. I told her to set a timer for 15-20 minutes each evening and start doing something. Little by little everything will get done. It’s a great way to get started and it shows how much you can get done in a short, focused amount of time.

  5. Yep – I am the same way – I break it up during the week – that way I am not spending my whole weekend cleaning!

    Great plan! 😀

  6. I SO need to do something like this!

Leave a Reply

