Week one & done!

Hooray! I survived my first week of C25k training! As per usual, my training schedule was slightly adapted based on time and energy. For example, Tuesday I was supposed to do spin AND strength-training, but the instructor incorporated weights into the spin class, so I didn’t need to. Also, after Wednesday’s run I was incredibly sore, so I had a rest day on Thursday instead.

While I’m definitely plugging along with C25k, it doesn’t feel as hard as it was as it did when I first started–and I’m surprised by that given the fact that I haven’t run since Thanksgiving 2010. That said, I’m still fighting for every step. The lack of conditioning and extra baby weight that I’m still carrying is to blame.

My diet this week has also been on target. Definitely more “treats” than normal, but everything fit within my calorie range. Because I’m nursing, I supposedly can/should be eating about 2000 calories a day, but I was gaining weight with that plan so I reduced my intake to 1700-1800.

This week’s workout/food plan is already determined as well:

Meals week of August 22

Yes, blogging has been on the backburner. While I would like to be posting daily, I think a more reasonable expectation is to post weekly at this point. It’s more important that I do the things that make me healthy instead of simply writing about it.

So, for those of you who have had an extended exercise sabbatical, what has helped you get back to your previous level of conditioning and motivation?

3 responses to “Week one & done!

  1. Congrats on the new baby. I haven’t checked in on your in awhile. I’m doing C25k too. I’ve done a couple of weeks twice so I could take it slow and not injure myself. I’m now on Week 4. Hang in there. Enjoy your baby! 🙂

  2. I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t really take a break from exercising – just taking 10 days off has stunted my weight loss and I just feel puffy. I am back on track – today its gorgeous – sunny and 71 right now and I can’t wait to run a 5k at lunch today – I know where the dead skunks are now – it was so gross yesterday!

  3. It’s so hard to start exercising again! I fear I am on a permanent exercise sabbatical. Pretty horrible, right? Sigh. Good for you though! You’re really rocking it!

Leave a Reply

