#Resound11

In an attempt to get back into a daily habit of reflection and blogging and to prepare for doing great things in 2012, I’m participating in Resound11.

Today’s question:Β  12/01: One word
What is one word to describe your 2011? Why does that word sum up your year?

My word is CHANGE. In 2011, I was still getting adjusted to living with Evan, I was pregnant, I adjusted to a (wonderful) new supervisor, I got engaged, I had a baby, and I got back to my professional life with this crazy new identity and expectations and values and lifestyle. I’ve been so busy with all of that that I haven’t figured out my (former–but hopefully also future) identity as an athlete and health/fitness buff.

The biggest change I see in myself personally is that I’m more patient, and I’ve learned to be flexible and not set up expectations of myself that are too far out of reach (and my reach is shorter these days with one arm firmly wrapped around Charlie).

The biggest change I see in myself professionally is balance. No longer do I work 14-16 hours days. I’ve cut out optional projects, volunteered for less (and different types of things) and I’ve learned to work smarter. On most days. Typically thanks to caffeine.

And, finally, I find myself open to change more. I’m looking at 2012 as a year for that to continue. I don’t know what it will bring, and I’m completely and totally fine with that.

 

4 responses to “#Resound11

  1. This post gave me warm fuzzies. πŸ™‚

    (Lame, but true.)

  2. Sharing Miranda’s warm fuzzies, and maybe feeling a little imspired too. Thanks for the post Tina πŸ™‚

  3. i think that year deserves a congratulations. I can’t wait to keep reading along with you resound11 journey. I’m hope i can use the word change next year as opposed to what i used this year “difficult”

  4. Sounds like a fabulous year! πŸ™‚ This is my first time here. I found your blog via #Resound11 on Twitter and will check back throughout the month to see how it’s going for ya! πŸ™‚ ~Tui

Leave a Reply

