Resound 11, Prompt 3: Virtues

#resound11 Prompt 03: Virtues

Yesterday we got down and dirty and revealed our 2011 vices; today we’ll wipe the slate clean and talk about what personal virtues we discovered in 2011.

What good have you done in 2011? Where do you really shine? What have you done that makes you proud of yourself?

We know you’ve got it in you!

How will you resound?

Being able to live in the moment.

One of the things I’ve always loved and cherished about Evan–largely because I couldn’t do it myself–is the ability to live in the moment. He truly knows how to take each day, each hour, each moment as they come. Whether it’s being aware of his surroundings on a hike at Pennypacker Park or laying in bed on a Sunday morning appreciating those first few moments of wakefulness.

I, on the other hand, live perpetually in the future and–to a slightly lesser degree–the past. So my Sunday morning involves thinking about the loads of laundry I have to do that day or meal planning for the week or evaluating how I handled a duty incident the previous night. My walks are rushed and include creating a mental to do list.

But an unexpected pregnancy and being able to learn from Evan after nearly 4 years together changed all that. When pregnant, I was curious who this little boy would become, but I rarely wished the pregnancy to move along faster. I’m so excited to see what kind of little boy he turns into–especially as he’s proven to be such a good natured, happy and socially sensitive baby (seriously–he was laying next to one of the other babies at daycare last week and proceeded to pat her shoulder and hold her hand!). But I don’t want it to go away. I actively think about how I’m going to enjoy every moment without worrying “What’s next?”

On one of my last days on maternity leave, I was laying on the couch resting, with Charlie sleeping in my arms. I thought “I may not have more kids and even if I do, these moments will never repeat themselves.” If we had a second child, I would rarely have that one on one napping time with them as Charlie would need attention. So I soak it all in.

I’m finding the same is true at work. I’ve realized that no matter how hard and fast I work, there will always be more to do. So instead of worrying about the projects I need to do, I focus on enjoying the ones I’m working on at the moment. It makes work much less stressful and more enjoyable.

I haven’t lost my ability to plan, think about the future or evaluate the past. But I have a much better balance of these skills and personal time zones. This is the person I always hoped–but never imagined–I’d become.

One response to “Resound 11, Prompt 3: Virtues

  1. This is a fantastic achievement. I’m proud of you and maybe more than a little envious…

Leave a Reply

