Resound11, Prompt 5: Theme Song

#resound11 Prompt 05: Theme Song

If your life was a television show, what would its theme song be? What music would be cued at the start of the show or when you entered a scene?

Think about this past year. Is there a song that you’ve heard that has really struck a chord, one that has spoken to you? Maybe there’s a song that goes along with your one word for 2011. Maybe there is a song that you’ve heard that instantly cheers you up or makes you think of a special moment that happened this year?

If you can find a link to a video or snippet of the song or the lyrics, please share it and explain why this song is your theme song and how it relates to your 2011.

How will you resound?

Ummmm… is it possible to pick just one theme song? I feel like I have a soundtrack to my life this year.

Changes by David Bowie would be the official Primetime Tina theme song (see prompt one for the story behind that one). It’s ain’t “Thank You for Being a Friend” but it’s pretty dang good.

The song that would play whenever Evan or Charlie entered a room would be Home by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes:

My contemplative theme song that plays whenever I’m trying to figure out life’s challenges (of which there have been So Darn Many in the past year and a half–many more than I’ve shared on this blog) is Little Talks by Of Monsters and Men

…There’s an old voice in my head that’s holding me back
I tell her that I miss our little talks
Soon it will all be over, buried with our past
You used to play outside when you were young,
Full of life and full of love

Some days I feel like I am wrong and I am right
Your mind is playing tricks on you my dear

‘Cause though the truth may vary
This ship will carry
Our bodies safe to shore

These lyrics speaks to my ability to quiet that voice of doubt and my faith that even when I don’t know what the hell I’m doing, I’m making movement, and I will (eventually) get where I need to be.

Florence and the Machine would sing “Dog Days Are Over” every time I left work.

There’d also be some Sufjan Stevens, Ani Difranco, Sarah McLachlan, Sara Bareilles, Mumford and Sons, TV on the Radio and like 5,000 other artists.

One response to “Resound11, Prompt 5: Theme Song

Leave a Reply

